Why use a soapcalc for recipes?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TuxedoKat

Reaction score
I've found a recipe on a blog that I would like to try making. Now, I've used two different soap calculators to run the recipe through (as I've seen suggested on this forum), but I keep getting different lye/water amounts than the recipe calls for. Why is this? I thought maybe it was because of the superfat percentage (the recipe doesn't list one), but as I change it around, I still can't get the ratio the recipe calls for.

I'm just wondering why I wouldn't trust the recipe. Is it in case the author made a mistake & in this case I should use the soap calc amounts? Or, is it becasue I'm still new at this and I'm not using the calculators correctly?

This is the recipe I would like to try:

http://homemadebathproducts.blogspot.com/2007/10/peppermint-patty-soap-cold-process.html

When I used the 4:1 ratio in the recipe, soap calc said to use 9.2 oz. of water & 2.3 oz. lye. When I used the 38% water recommendation, it said to use 6.08 oz water & 2.3 oz. lye. The recipe calls for 8oz. water & 2 oz. of lye. As a beginner, I'm confused about the differences. I used the 5% superfat and left out the essential oil because the directions said it wouldn't affect the ratio's.

Should I just use the soap recommendations? The recipe? What am I missing that would make the recipe appear to be off?

Well, a quater oz of peppermint EO is not nearly enough, even for a 1# batch. The difference in 2 oz lye vs. 2.3 is supperfatting amount. The 2 will give you more superfatting action. 2.3 will give you more lye hence less oils left over after saponification.

Use at least .5 oz peppermint. And if you have it, add some spearmint or eucalyptus to it to help it stick. Plain peppermint will fade in a couple of months (as a rule - not everything applies to everybody).