wholesale question

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kwahlne

Reaction score
OK, how does one handle this situation? This winery wants to buy soaps wholesale from me to put in their gift shop. They would like the soaps to have their wine in it. So, how would that work? Would they wholesale the wine to me, then I make the soap with their wine and then wholesale the soaps back to them?

I've never done wholesale before. Do I draw up a wholesale agreement or do they, in this situation? I figure I can find a sample agreement online somewhere, unless someone here as one they's like to share... :wink:

Not really sure what you should do, but I know of someone who recently made a wine soap that did not turn out as they expected (turned brown and had no wine scent). Have you ever made one before? You may want to do a little trial run before saying yes to the wholesale account! :)

Kristin - I've been experimenting with wine soaps - the lye monster kills the scent and the colour - makes a really, really, ugly soap!!!! :evil:

I would recommend that you stick to FO's for Cabernet, Merlot & Champagne.

JMO

Lindy

I have been told, to make wine soap, you need to boil the wine way down till it is like syrup and then use that as part of your liquid or as sugar....depending on how much you use in your soap.

Dixie said:
I have been told, to make wine soap, you need to boil the wine way down till it is like syrup and then use that as part of your liquid or as sugar....depending on how much you use in your soap.

Yup - that's what I did - the first time I reduce 1 bottle of wine to syrup for a 6 lb batch - didn't get colour or scent - 2nd time - reduced 3 litres of wine for 6 lb batch - didn't get colour (still brown both batches) and no wine scent.....