Wax melts

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I just started learning wax melts. Here is a link with tons of free information and ideas. Halloween Inspiration: Candles, Melts, Fragrances, and more
Added: each wax seems to have a maximum percentage of fragrance that can be absorbed. CandleScience has tons of free information and tutorials for wax melts. Note that the temperature of the wax when adding fragrances is important. See the tutorials.

Last edited:
I don't really remember the ratios; but I used more soy wax than palm wax and just a little beeswax. I think that natural waxes burn cleanly. Beeswax has a higher melting point than some other waxes. Soy wax has a lower melting point which means it melts quickly and releases fragrance easily. Palm wax releases fragrance slowly and lasts longer than some other waxes. I used this combination as it was it was what I had on hand. It worked well for me. Hope this helps.:)

I use a votive and pillar wax at a 3/1 ratio. The votive wax give it the smoothness and scent through while the pillar wax gives it the hardness to hold its shape. I never use more than 6% fragrance. If a scent doesn't perform well at that percentage, I call it a dud and won't use it. The combo of waxes I use though, and the scents I use don't need more than that and can scent the full top level of my house pretty well. (also up into the landing of the the upstairs hallway - but all scents tend to gather there! LOL)

Thanks! Where can I buy votive and pillar waxes?
Any candle making supplier will have them.
Candle Science
Natures Garden
Aztec
Candles and Supplies
These are the main suppliers I get my candlemaking supplies from. There are a few others, but these are what comes to mind off the top of my head. :)