The soap gods are jerking my chain....again.....

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

My Mountain Soaps

Reaction score
So i made a 5lb batch of oatmeal soap, i used .5 ounces of cypress eo and .5 oz of juniper eo, they smelled great together when i placed them side by side and smelled them.
Last i cut the soap, and my 4 month old walker hound was at my feet at the time. I smelled a horrible smell, and was about to make the dog leave, thinking that he cut a dusty. WRONG- it was my soap. It smelled like three day old dead shrimp.
I smelled it again today, and i can smell the cypress coming through more, and the dead shrimp smell is going away. I hope it continues to go away, or i may get to try my first re-batch. Which, i have to say, is awesome that i have been soaping for four years, and this may be my first re-batch. Either that, or i can market this soap to cat owners- maybe i can hoodwink them into thinking that it would be easier to give your cat a bath with shrimp smelling soap. :)
for those of you who may be interested (And want to re-create this wonderful smell ha ha), here is the recipe:
50% deer tallow
25% coconut oil
20% palm oil
5% beeswax
.5 oz cypress eo
.5 juniper eo.
i just had a thought, it is the deer that may have interacted with the oils to create that smell. And i wanted to create an outdoorsy smell, i sure got one!!!

Give it a few days, see if the scent changes. I had once batch that smelled like ammonia and vomit, that went away after a few days and the nice scent came back.

No milk in the soap? That can smell off in recently cut soap.

I suspect the tallow. I have soaped with elk tallow and I could detect the odor underneath the EOs. It faded over time but never completely went away.

Also, I would use more EO. For 5 lbs of soap, I'd use 2-2.5 ounces. With only 1 ounce of scent, it will be harder to cover up the off odor.