some terms i don't understand!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lottee

Reaction score
I keep reading of lye discount and water discount. There is an explanation of lye discount in one of my books but i really don't get it (not a very good explanation......)

Also, the recipe i have used so far has been very simple. Is there a reason to change unless i fancy something different?

Waat exactly is superfattibg and why? How do you work out the percentage?

Thanks from a complete newbie!

Lye discount and superfat are the same thing. "Superfatting is either adding an extra amount of oil into your soap recipe but keeping the lye amount the same, or using the same amount of oil and less lye. Superfatting is adding in more oil than is required to have a complete 1:1 reaction with the lye in a batch of cold process soap."
Superfatting makes the soap less harsh and gives you a margin for error. I use SoapCalc and you can set the amount of superfat that you want for each batch of soap.
Source: http://candleandsoap.about.com/od/coldprocesssoapmaking/g/glsuperfat.htm

http://www.soapnuts.com/tips2.html

Here is the link to soapcalc, have a look at the FAQ's page to help you. There is no need to change your recipe if your happy with it. All your recipes should be run through a soap calc to make sure you have the right lye amounts, some of the books tell you that.

http://www.soapcalc.net/