Repeated False Trace

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Melissa Torre

Reaction score
Hello all! Thanks for having me! So, little background,I’m a chef, and have been soaping professionally for about three years now...I have never (other than some sweating) had a problem with production until now...for the past few months every batch of soap false traces! It happens as soon as the lye water hits the oils (70%tallow/15%olive/15%coconut). It’s the same recipe I’ve been using for years. I’ve tried soaping hotter (I’ve ranged from 90• To 145•), I bought new lye, new oils...does anyone have a clue? I’m baffled and am at my wits end! Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!!

How do you know it's "false trace" rather than normal trace?

People measure the temps of the fats and of the lye solution, but the real key is the temp of the combined soap batter. Is the batter temperature above the melting temperature of your fats?

Does this "false trace" disappear as the soap batter starts to warm up from saponification? Or does the soap batter just continue to thicken?

You say it happens right when the fats are combined with the lye solution. By this, do you mean it happens after you start to stick blend or do you literally mean immediately when you pour one into the other?

You say you purchased new fats, but are you purchasing the same brands or have you tried different brands? I'm focusing especially on the tallow, since it's such a large part of your recipe, but my question also applies to the other fats.

Have you tried making a small test batch of soap using just one fat to see if you can determine if a given fat is the issue?

I take it you don't use fragrance or any other additives?