Question

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rhonda

Reaction score
I'm just getting started making soap. My first is going to be a melt and pour project. I have 2 lbs of shea butter melt and pour soap base. Ok how much fragrance do I need to add to it without creating a disaster? Also, I'm going to use the monkeys farts fragrance for my kids and would really like for it to be brown and have a chocolatey smell added. Can I use regular cocoa for this and if so, how much should I use?

First off, are you making the whole 2lb just for your kids? It only takes about 3oz for a standard sized bar..
I actually just scent to smell - depends on the fragrance oil's strength.
TYPICALLY I use (and this is converted, I use a pipette for mine but I've measured it out and it equates to..) about 1/4 tsp for 1-2 bars depending on strength. I'd melt your base and add 1/8 tsp, stir and sniff - if you want more add it 1/8 tsp at a time.
To make it brown, yes you can use cocoa. I recommend very little though, maybe 1/4 tsp as well - but I would take a small bowl, but the cocoa in and break up the lumps, and then add a very small amount of your melted soap base and mix it up to make a smooth paste before adding to the rest of the base. Otherwise you'll end up with lumps and it doesn't look good at all.

I want to see pics when it comes out! Good luck and have fun, it's a wonderful addiction :)

Yes I plan on making the full 2lbs. I have three kids but there are lots of other kids in the family that can benefit from it too. I have a niece that has eczema as well. So I'm gonna pass it on to her too.

I would not add over 1 tablspoon of fragrance per pound of soap for adults, even less for the sensitive skin of kids. I would not use any scent on babsie up to 2 years unless it's a very mild & minimum natural essential oil.

Cocoa will color your bar but not scent it.