One of my other hobbies (bettas, lots of pics)

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TessC

Reaction score
Way before I ever discovered the world of handmade soap and turned into an addict, I fell in love with bettas. I've been keeping and breeding them for several years now, although I'm scaling way back on the breeding side for now.

They're a bit trickier than livebearing fish to spawn, they're bubblenesters and highly aggressive. The courtship and mating process is brutal, sometimes resulting in damage to one or both of the parents, and the female has to be removed from the spawning tank as soon as they're finished, otherwise she'll snack on the eggs. The males construct a nest of bubbles where the eggs stay until they hatch, and he'll tend the eggs until they hatch then care for the fry until they're free-swimming. When they first hatch they're unable to swim on their own, so the male has to keep them up in the nest so that they don't drown. The little fry make his life difficult as they get restless, wriggling and dislodging themselves from the bubblenest and keeping the poor male in perpetual motion to catch the almost constant rain of fry.

Once the young are free-swimming, the male has to come out or he'll start eating them. The fry can live together until they start to reach maturity (typically 6-8 weeks), then they have to be separated to keep them from maiming and killing each other.

Anyway, enough babbling, pics!

One of my favorite males, he's a copper halfmoon,

2-29z.jpg

2-29cc.jpg

A pair during the conditioning process prior to being spawned, they can see each other at this point but they're not able to hurt each other through the glass (and that particular female is a vicious little heifer):

2-29o.jpg

2-29p.jpg

Poor tired male getting ready to scoop up one of the fry to return it to the nest:

DSC02990.jpg