Newby Soap Recipe Advice Please <3

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aspiringdakini

Reaction score
I am new at soaping. I just used the lye calculator and used the oils that I have. I just would like some expert advice on my recipe.

Castor Oil 20.00g 5.00%
Coconut Oil (76 Degrees) 40.00g 10.00%
Olive Oil 80.00g 20.00%
Palm Oil 40.00g 10.00%
Rapeseed Oil 40.00g 10.00%
Shortening (Vegetable) 80.00g 20.00%
Sunflower Seed Oil 100.00g 25.00%
6% (Superfat)
Lye (Sodium Hydroxide) Amount 52.508g
Grams of liquid recommended 132.00g (coconut milk)
Yields 584.51g

Does this recipe sound good to you? I would like a nice hard soap bar that cures in 4-6 weeks with a good lather and is also moisturizing. I like dove brand soap so I am looking to make something similar to that. If you have any suggestions, comments, advice or even another recipe all together, Please let me know. Thank you! <3 :Kitten Love:

Last edited:
First off this is a recipe that is going to make you wonder why on earth you ever loved Dove. So in other words this is going to be a hard bar of soap with lots of wonderful conditioning. You are going to have a nice creamy lather with some bubbles.

It looks to me like you are doing a 6.5% SF and you water is a little high but only by 2 gr.

I say go for it. This will be ready in about 4 weeks and I think you are so going to fall in love with it. Please share your results and what you think of it....