New here, a little reassurance needed!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fox

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm new to all this but am becoming obessed! Was inspired after my gf bought me some Lush soaps. Loved the smell and the way they made my skin feel. GF's gone now but the soap obsession remains!

I've made two smallish batches in the last week and all seems well so far.
Bought about 50 EOs as well and loving them. I really do feel they have some psyholgical and physiological effect on the body. And I'm not the sort of person that usually believes in all that stuff!

Recipe 1:

olive oil 150g
palm oil 60g
coconut oil 90g
NaOH 44g
Water 100g

Which I reckon to give about 3% superfat. Used cedarwood, orange and mandarin EOs. Unmolded and cut it after about 36 hours. It cut fine except the edges did crumble very slightly. Passed the zap test and the bars seem to be hardening up nicely. Should I be worried about slight crumbling around the edges? Only talking bisciut cumb size. Maybe the knife I'm using is too thick. 100% sure I measured the ingredients accurately.

Recipe 2:

olive oil 200g
coconut oil 200g
NaOH 60g
Water 134g

Which gives about 8% superfat. Used Frankinsence, Ginger and Cinnamon Leaf EOs and it smells very warming. Should be ready for the impending English winter which is not pleasant when you have to get up at 6 every morning (I'm a primary school teacher)

I'm thinking of making a salt bar tomorrow - any ideas on scent?

PS - what is 'gel' and what is its significance?