Liquid soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pawpaw

Reaction score
I made my first batch of liquid soap using the glycerine method and it came out beautifully (whoop whoop). I have just one question. I used canola and coconut oil and the paste came out brown, a clear brown to be exact. Do different oils affect the final colour and if so what oils can make a more clear or much lighter colour? I don't know if I want ALL of my liquid soap to be a dark brown. Might be hard to colour

Yes, the oils will make a difference but I find using the glycerin method also creates a darker soap than using only water to dissolve your KOH.

I didn't think the glycerine would also make a difference. I presume you know about the oils (I'm still learning). What oils would make a lighter colour, I don't mind if it's not see through clear but I really don't like the dark brown. Even light would be ok or off coloured. I can get most oils so choice isn't a problem. I haven't done 100% coconut as I think that might make a too cleansing oil.

I find that using 100% glycerin does make a darker soap, but others may not. I usually use 50% glycerin/50% water to get the benefits of the glycerin method without the high heat and mess. I have not used canola oil so I don't know how that would perform but would assume it would make a lighter soap. Coconut Oil, Olive Oil, Sunflower Oil, Castor Oil - all that I have used and using water, makes a light colored soap. How long did you cook your paste? I also find that a longer cook time can create a darker soap too. There are so many factors that go into making the soap paste, it is hard to say why yours came out dark brown. I only get that with Goat's Milk Soap.

I cooked it for about an hour after trace. I'll try the 50/50 method next and some sunflower oil instead.