Lard...smell

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blender

Reaction score
I'm new to soap making....

the last batch I made was 50% lard, 50% olive oil...I fragranced it with peppermint essential oil.

It smelled great...

but then I tried the soap....It left the smell of wet dog on my skin!!

My question is..does all lard do this? My lard was Armour brand by the way. I'm wondering if I should just decrease the amount of lard in the recipe.

Anyone have experiences with stinky lathering soap?

odd. I soap with that brand all the time and even at 75% have no issues.

some folks swear they can smell it at any level though - maybe you are one of the sensitive ones. or perhaps yours was rancid? or did you perhaps overheat it when melting it - again I've had no issue but some say you have to melt carefully to avoid the "piggy" smell.

I've never soaped lard but I'm involved in a single oil soap swap. I've got palm , PKO & lard. They are all to be unscented so I'll let you know how mine goes.
Lard/tallow are very rarely used in the UK in handmade soap.

Gah, bad. Might be the olive oil, I made an unscented batch with no lard but quite a lot of olive oil. It was slimy and smelled a bit funny. Very moisturising though! I'm sure someone with more experience can help more :p

Also, hi Lomond Soap. I'm from Scotland too! I was excited to see a UK soaper then I seen you were from Scotland! Look forward to seeing you around the forum!

Perhaps I did overheat the lard while melting it....

I don't think it was the olive oil...I kinda like the olive oil smell on soap. This smell was very much a wet dog/pig/animal smell. A shame since the soap would have been gorgeous otherwise.

Thank you all for your replies.