Is there a way to fix crumbling soap (not lye heavy)?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thessalystra

Reaction score
Hello everyone. I'm new to soapmaking. I made this soap yesterday, and it turned out crumbly and powdery. I tried the zap test and it is fine. It's not too hard to cut either. The bottom part is still a bit soft, even.

1686707890366.jpeg

I put activated charcoal in it, and it seems like the last batch I made with activated charcoal (not the same design though) was also a bit dry and crumbly. Is it the charcoal the problem?

I admit I didn't use thermometer when soapmaking. But I made sure the lye solution was my-brother-in-fever temperature (39-40 C).

What went wrong? Should I wait before cutting it further? Can I save the batch?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Olive oil 125gr
Palm Oil 200gr
Coconut Oil 100gr
Lye 59.3gr
Water 161gr

I didn't use any water discount because i wanted to make a wood-grain design.
I used charcoal and TiO2 as additive and colorant.

That's a WHOLE lot of water - about 27% lye concentration. That's why your soap is still pretty soft and crumbly, and is getting so much soda ash on it (the charcoal often contributes to that, too).

I'm guessing that you used the water-as-percent-of-oils setting? I recommend that you try the lye concentration next time, and set it to 33%. That's more than enough water for a fluid batter, especially if you soap at lower temps. With that setting, you also don't have to think about "water discounts" either; you just make the lye concentration higher for less water, or lower for more water.

I recommend that you try the lye concentration next time, and set it to 33%

Thanks a lot. I will try it next time. <3