Grams vs. Ounces

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I know that a kilogram is a little over two pounds. But I can’t really switch back and forth. My molds hold 1550 grams of batter. I know what that looks like and feels like and it’s about 3.4 pounds (just looked that up) but I’m not very good at switching back and forth. Just like I am not good at thinking about temperature in Celsius. Although… come to think of it I use Celsius when I’m adding preservatives. 🤔
@Shelley D I think I follow, but does your scale only measure in whole ounces? Then I would definitely use grams. Well, I do anyway.

Oh, rant away, @Vicki C , this is a sensitive button for me. When I started, I had a feel for ounces but switched to grams because of my scale. I would calculate something to be 20 ounces but the scale registered 1 pound X ounces and for the life of me I will not remember how many ounces are in a pound. 16? 18? And trying to Google it with my gloves on, and oh the humanity. I learned to trust the numbers in grams -- base 10 just makes logical sense. But then various colorants and additives are recommended as ppo so then I'd have to convert grams to pounds!

And I have such firm memories of being in elementary school and learning THE METRIC SYSTEM IS COMING, THE METRIC SYSTEM IS COMING, YOU HAVE TO LEARN HOW TO CONVERT!! And my little 10 year old brain was like, why memorize conversion ratios? Just switch over to metric and move on already. Doy!

How many feet are in a mile?!

EDIT: And speaking of women and on the last day of March, can we give it up to all the smart, talented, creative women on this Forum that are generous with sharing their knowledge, advice, moderation, and experience? I am grateful for constant inspiration. Also grateful for a non-Forum woman, Mrs. Zing, who is my shade tree.

Last edited: