Gosh, what happened here?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vitormgib

Reaction score
I've done the same recipe I've been doing for two years, but two different batches came out with a white layer on it's upper corners. The layer looks like soda ash, but I don't think it's soda ash, as the soap cured for two days with no oxygen circulation and as the layer is not widespread, but it's concentrated just in the corners. When I took the soap out of it's mold the layer wasnt' there: it came after one or two days.

I did change the Olive Oil from extra virgin to just OO, as the prices went up so much, but it's a reliable brandt. Could this be it?

Here is the basic recipe:

OO 51,9%
Cocoa butter 16%
Palm oil 13,5%
Coconut oil 12,5%
Grape seed oil 6,0%

Thank you for any assistance! I'm quite puzzled.

Attachments

• IMG_20231023_182735.jpg
    IMG_20231023_182735.jpg
    3.7 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_20231023_182637.jpg
    IMG_20231023_182637.jpg
    3.6 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_20231023_231117.jpg
    IMG_20231023_231117.jpg
    2.6 MB · Views: 0
Did you zap-test the chalky areas? If they aren't zappy, then it probably is just soda ash. The fact that it showed up a few days after exposure to air is a tell-tale sign. That kind of focused chalkiness along the edges happens to me sometimes when I pour at thinner emulsions, especially when soaping at cooler temperatures (soap batter, room, or both), or if I don't gel the soap.

Without knowing more about your exact recipe, other possibilities that come to mind are a new fragrance oil, new mica, or new additive that you've not used before.