Goat milk newbie

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RoguePastures

Reaction score
Hi everyone!!! I am new to goat milk and soap is something my daughter and I would like to make to help raise funds for her competitive dance fees!! Here at Rogue Pastures we have goats, pigs, cows, and chickens that we all pasture raise organically. We are pretty new so we are trying to learn as we go! We also raise Goldendoodles in order for me to stay home with our 4 kiddos!! I am also new to any type of forum so this is all a learning curve for me! I had a specific question and found this forum so thought I’d give it a try!

Hi and welcome! I think you’ll love the forum - everyone here is so helpful. I also make GMS, but use powder. Your pasture and animals sound awesome. Can’t wait to see what you create. 🌸

Welcome! Here is a great thread to read about the steps to take if you want to sell soap.

The only slight point of clarification I would make to that post is not to create a business entity right away. It's expensive and not always necessary; good liability insurance is much better protection than an LLC, for instance. But if your financial advisor does recommend an LLC, creating that is pretty much the last step to take after you have done all the others (recipe formulation, testing, learning how to properly label, etc.). You don't want the extra hassles of maintaining an LLC, with separate bank accounts, etc., until you are actually selling. And there is a LOT of work and testing ahead of you before you get there - probably a year or more.

One cool thing about that thread is that there was another member from Nebraska who talked (in the third or fourth post in the thread?) about her experience. Hopefully that will be very helpful to you. :) Good luck, and don't forget to post some pictures of your soaps. We love pictures. :)

Hi,