Dumb Dumb Moments: Zany's Faux Seawater Recipe

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
So I tried making the faux sea water with better Baking soda. I am definitely sure it was the baking soda. So I made it again And it kinda did the same thing but not that bad and there was no white goo floating in it. It went cloudy but looked a bit like powder floating in it this time. So I strained it and the lye and faux sea water went clear again. I think all I did was strain out the baking soda cause this is what was left in the cloth. Any thoughts about this?View attachment 73393
I'm not an expert by any means, but when I made the faux seawater I made the salty water first by heating the distilled water, adding the salts and stirred until they were dissolved, then made salty water ice cubes, then made my lye solution with the salty ice cubes. The solution was cloudy but no floaties (or sinkies 😄). I just stirred until the lye dissolved, letting it sit a minute or 2 between stirrings. I wasn't worried about it being cloudy because it's a lye solution, so there's chemical reaction going on, and I used it without straining because the lye was fully dissolved. Just sharing my experience

Well, here's what I would do... dump the white stuff back into the water. Nuke in the microwave for 1 minute. Stir until clear. If it's a little bit yellow, nuke again for 20 seconds. The object is to get the sodium bicarbonate ( baking soda) to dissolve completely.
The way I read this is that the lye had been added to the faux sea water. Nuking it sounds like a very bad idea. I think you maybe missed that bit of information?