Dealing with an EO / FO anxiety in the CP process

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BubbleBitch

Reaction score
Because I am no expert at the delicate alchemy of cp soap making, I am trying to think of ideas that eliminate any possible f*ck ups that may occur.:twisted:

One thing I am particularly anxious of is mixing in the fragrance / essential oils...I've heard many a horror story whereby the trace seizes up or the batch is ruined or discolored when the oils are introduced.

My idea, is leaving the cp, plain, maybe coloring it, but plain re: no fragrance or essential oils. Then cubing some mp soap that is colored and scented and mixing it into the plain cp soap.

When I unmold and cut the soap, there would be something of a mosaic effect, that is pretty awesome, the scent would be there and I wouldn't have to worry at all about ruining the cp part of it.

What do you guys think?
Is this a good idea? Any improvements?

If you want to... but honestly - just go for it! Don't be worried about it seizing. Use good quality oils and only use .7oz ppo. Don't be nervous about it. :D

Maybe try a small batch where you add the FO/EO to the oil BEFORE you add the lye. I'm so lazy, I always add everything I can before I add the lye. It's just easy and I don't have to 'do the dance' until the end.

Not all batches seize. Most do not. you will find out soon enogh which FO or EO are seizers then you work accordingly.

Healinya, forgive my gumshoe-ness, but what does the .7oz ppo mean?

Healinya said:
If you want to... but honestly - just go for it! Don't be worried about it seizing. Use good quality oils and only use .7oz ppo. Don't be nervous about it. :D

Thanks for the advice guys. :twisted:

.7 ppo - means - .7 per pound of oils ......use .7 ounces of fragrance or essential oils per pound of base oils used in your recipe.