CP problem with a batch

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

apsuhos

Reaction score
Hello there..

I am new to soap making. I have already tried 2-3 times to make soap and I really enjoy it. Yesterday, I tried to make a soap using:

Water: 12.710ounces or 360gr
Lye(NaOH: 5.007ounces or 142gr
Olive oil: 17.037ounces or 483gr
Coconut oil: 10.563ounces or 300gr
Palm oil: 6.474ounces or 184gr

I blended the water-NaOH solution with the oils at 31.8celcius or 89.24 Fahrenheit

The trace was good and everything looked great..

I poured the soap into the mold, used a blanket around the mold and waited..

(The weather where I live is quite warm during this period, 25-28 celcius (77-82 Fahrenheit). Did I do ok with the blanket?)

After 20 hours or so, I was anxious about the result so I took a peek. This was the result.

The problem is located at the middle of the mold. Can you explain to me what went wrong?

It overheated. That's all. The soap will be fine, just not the prettiest. If you trim off the top, no one will ever know(except all of us that saw the pics :D). Go ahead and cut it. Remember that gel starts at the center and goes to the outside, so the center gets hotter than the outer edges that can shed heat.

Oh, and welcome to the addiction!

Last edited: