Can oils from the grocers be used in soaps

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Thanks. That really helps. So if I am wanting oliv oil, which should I get. Thre are differnt types and processed differently.

Pomace olive oil will typically accelerate your soap batter, so I'd stay away from that as a beginner. Extra virgin olive oil tastes great, but is typically more expensive than "light" olive oil. I typically buy light olive oil at Costco; it's the best price in my area.

Pomace olive oil will typically accelerate your soap batter, so I'd stay away from that as a beginner. Extra virgin olive oil tastes great, but is typically more expensive than "light" olive oil. I typically buy light olive oil at Costco; it's the best price in my area.
I get my EVOO at Costco too. I also buy things like sunflower oil at my local Haggen's.

Hi all. I am brand new at soapmaing and have a lot of questions. Is it ok to use olive oil or coconut oil from the grocery store in soap recipes?
Yes, you just want to double-check the label to make sure that it contains 100% of that oil and is not a 'blend'. I buy my Olive, Avocado and Coconut Oils from Costco and Lard from Wal-Mart.

I actually used to soap with almost only oils that I know I would cook with so that, if I no longer wanted to use that oil, it won't go to waste. Coconut, avocado and olive oils are classic examples for me. That way, I was happy to buy in larger volumes to save.