Bubbly

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BlueSky

Reaction score
I have spent the day on SoapCalc trying to figure out how to make a bar of soap that is bubbly, with a cleansing value under 20, and I'm about to go bonkers trying :evil: . What constitutes a bubbly lather? I have a few batches of soap under my belt, but they all turn out creamy. What is a good number to have for lots of bubbles?

Also, if you have a high cleansing value (say 24), does a high condition value (say 50) make up for it?

Thank you all in advance.

I had just posted the other day on a recipe I had done with a cleansing of 20 and conditioning of 50 and I found that my skin was a little dry. Someone suggested to me to have a conditioning of 55 when your cleansing is high.

so I'm new at all this too but castor oil is very bubbly and I read on the forum that a conditioning does make up for it but i think it would have to be higher.

The gurus will be here shortly : )

and for the gurus...I superfat at 8-10%, use a 2:1 water:lye ratio, and I am thinking of Almond oil instead of Olive oil.

20-25% coconut oil in your recipe should give you a cleansing of 14-17 (just about right), and 5-6% castor will boost the bubble way up there to a nice bubbly lather.

BlueSky said:
I have spent the day on SoapCalc trying to figure out how to make a bar of soap that is bubbly, with a cleansing value under 20, and I'm about to go bonkers trying :evil: . What constitutes a bubbly lather? I have a few batches of soap under my belt, but they all turn out creamy. What is a good number to have for lots of bubbles?

Also, if you have a high cleansing value (say 24), does a high condition value (say 50) make up for it?

Castor oil will get you some extra bubbles, so will glycerin added at trace at about 1%

oldragbagger