Best temp to add fragrence

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

welsh black

Reaction score
Hi there, I'm using soy wax to make my candles, I saw somewhere to add fragrence to wax at 180 f for best scent retention and throw. Is this correct ? Seem a bit high to me, but I'm new at candles so could do with some help. Thanks.

I've read the same and I don't have an answer for you from my own experience yet, but I know you'll have to check your fragrance oil for flash point. I know some of mine are 199f but a lot are much lower.

Tuning in for the answer to this as well :)

The procedure for almost every candle making procedure is to heat from 180* to 210* depending on each kind of wax. Then add any fragrance around 180* and stir the fragrance either for several minutes or until the mixture reaches a specific temperature. This varies widely with each kind of wax and personal pouring temperatures and systems.

Each fragrance has a flash point....yes. This is the point at which the fragrance will ignite...in the air. Only if there is an ignition source. So if a fragrance's flash point is 150* you need to have your kitchen be 150* with an ignition source and an airborne fragrance to have an issue. When you add this fragrance to a wax, it combines with the wax and this changes the flash point.

So, in your candle system you will heat to a certain temp, add color and stir. Add the fragrance, stir and then pour at your desired pour temp. I personally add fragrance at either 180* or 185* depending on which wax I am working with a parasoy container wax or a paraffin pillar wax.

Good Luck. :)

Hi Stacy ,