Best soap size for wedding favours

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

neeners

Reaction score
so my friend just asked if I could make soap for her wedding in mid Feb (yes...short time frame, but totally possible). I'm wondering what size I should aim for each of the soaps. I was thinking something smaller than a full sized bar? I've made some soaps about 1 inch thick, 2 inches tall and 3.5 inches wide. no clue the weight on those, but they still feel pretty substantial.

i'm doing this as a favour, and will likely be providing these as a wedding gift. i'll be making approx. 150 (those are the numbers currently on the guest list. can't lie, feeling a little daunted at the task, but up for the challenge!)

what are the usual size for guest soaps? i'm still a bit of a newbie (esp with the sizing of soap)

Usually 1.5-2 oz. You could make your regular size bars and cut them in half. Perhaps put a nice stamp on them too. That's what I would probably do rather than make small soaps to start...plus it would save you time. I would package them in either a nice cellophane bag or even a fabric bag. Make it easy on yourself.

thanks! I was planning on doing cigar bands with the names of bride & groom and date on front (with an image and font that matches their invitations), and then ingredients on the back side. I doubt there is enough time to find the pouches (i'm in the Caribbean.....they'd have to be made).

i'll have to do some measuring and calculating tonight....

ImageUploadedBySoap Making1388686764.678095.jpg
ImageUploadedBySoap Making1388686803.877027.jpg here is a guest soap I got recently. It's a great size and the box itself would be a great size for a rectangle soap. I would make the soap 2" X 3" and .75 thick and then it'll shrink a bit during the cure.