Beginner Shave Soap Advice Please :-)

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Horsey031

Reaction score
Hi everyone, so this is my 1st post after my introduction post. The reason I joined this site is because I want to start making my own have soap.

I have done a bit of reading on recipes on the forum and elsewhere and have put my own recipe together mainly based on the supplies that are available to me. Since this is my first attempt I would really appreciate if you kind folk could look at my recipe and let me know if I am on the right track. Any guidance would be appreciated, especially if I should be adding something, leaving something out or substituting an ingredient.

I am doing a hot process since I have read this is easier for stearic acid recipes. True or False?

I have decided I want a bit of softness to my shave soap so I went 80% NaOH and 20% KOH. Is this okay?

Total Weight - 100 grams (for ease of reference)

Water % of oil - 38%
Superfat - 5%

NaOH - 10.5g
KOH - 3.7g

Stearic Acid - 50g (50%)
Castor Oil - 35g (35%)
Avocado Oil - 5g (5%)
Coconut Oil - 5g (5%)
Olive Oil - 5g (5%)

* I might add a small amount of Bentonite clay for slip, I am aware of the claims they dull your razor but I use a safety razor and I replace my blades after every 2 shaves.

Lastly what can I replace stearic acid with? I have read soy wax is a good alternative.

Thanks in advance for the help! :thumbs:

For shave soap, I don't think you'll want to replace the stearic acid, that's what gives the lather its stability.