Avocado, hemp soap recipe help?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Candiland

Reaction score
I'm new to making CP soaps but want to do a Christmas gift batch. I am buying hemp oil in quantity for massage oils and was thinking I wanted to use it in the soap making as well.
Can I make a soap with Coconut, Avocado, Hemp and olive oil? What ratios would you recommend? Also was wanting to do smaller molds is that going to affect saponification?

Screenshot_20231008-184321_Drive.jpg

This is my current plan. Not sure I care that the ins number is a tad low... convince me I should?

Also, since you are new to soapmaking, consider using soy wax, cocoa butter, or a mix of those two, instead of the 10% beeswax. Those will both add hardness to your soap, and are easier ingredients for a new soapmaker to use. :)

But if you really want to use beeswax, consider lowering it to 2%. That's usually more than enough to make a very hard bar of soap, without affecting the lather too badly. Beeswax has a high melting point, so the more you use, the hotter your oils must be, and the faster the whole thing will trace.

I would reduce one of the oils and add 5% Castor oil. Be sure to add ROE to prevent DOS when using hemp oil.
What is ROE? And I unfortunately don't have access to castor oil nor do I feel comfortable buying any as it's super toxic.. that's my problem with many of the recipes I find they all use either palm oil or castor oil and I'm just not sold on using toxic, or problematic oils as that's what I'm trying to avoid by making my own...

Also, since you are new to soapmaking, consider using soy wax, cocoa butter, or a mix of those two, instead of the 10% beeswax. Those will both add hardness to your soap, and are easier ingredients for a new soapmaker to use. :)