Advice Appreciated

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cassie

Reaction score
Hi all,

I have been making cp soap for a few years now but I was wanting to tweak my recipes. I currently use soapcalc.net but is there a better way to figure out possible soap qualities? I have read on some threads that soapcalc.net is not the most accurate in terms of hardness when olive oil is involved?

I currently use the following two recipes and plan to test out a third:
For all recipes:
Lye concentration 35%
superfat 5%

1.Avocado oil - 5%
Canola oil - 15%
Castor oil - 5%
Coconut oil - 30%
Grapeseed oil - 5%
Mango seed butter - 10%
Olive oil - 30%
I liked the hardness of this bar but the mango butter and avocado oil were too expensive to keep buying

2. Sweet Almond oil - 5%
Canola oil - 15%
Castor oil - 5%
Coconut oil - 30%
Grapeseed oil - 10%
Olive oil - 20%
Shea butter 15%
This recipe is more affordable to me, even the shea butter comes out to the same price as the grapeseed oil and slightly less than the olive oil per ounce. However, this bar has been coming out softer and I don't like that.

3. This recipe I haven't made yet but will be testing
Sweet Almond oil - 10%
Castor oil - 10%
Coconut oil - 27%
Grapeseed oil - 10%
Olive oil - 28%
Shea butter - 15%
I wanted to decrease the coconut oil a tad just to have a slightly less cleansing bar. I am also using sweet almond oil because I have a big jug of it so I plan to use it until I run out but I'm ambivalent about ordering more in the future. I took the canola out because it seemed like it would make the bar softer.