Big Fancy Tops

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cheri_j

Reaction score
Hello!

I'm full of questions today.

I've watched You Tube videos (trying to learn) and love the big fancy tops with embeds. I'm not technically there yet, but want to get there one day. I've always wondered do they insulate these soaps for the 24 hours after making? I figure if they do, they have to tent the loafs with cardboard or something.

They NEVER tell you in the videos! They just go from finishing up the soap to the cutting the soap.

If there are M&P embeds, would CPOP still work?

Please enlighten me. I have wondered about this for months!

Thank you so very much!! Y'all are the best!

The extra volume of high tops can help retain the heat of a soap that gels. It doesn't necessarily replace a full on effort to insulate the mold bt place in an inverted cardboard box over the mold and covering with a towel.

But gelling and insulating can ruin the your fancy high top.

I have a plastic shoe box or cardboard boxes to invert over the top of my soaps before I insulate. It protects the top. If you have a long mold, those triangle shaped "tube" mailers from the post office work well if you cut them and tape them. If you have a square mold, then just keep your eyes open for an appropriate size box. You can always add sides as long as the "bottom" is the right size. You can even make a box from foam core boards purchased from a craft store or Amazon:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B014VCOCEC/?tag=skimlinks_replacement-20

You can even make molds from foam core boards.

Last edited by a moderator:
I never insulate/cover and have no issue achieving gel. My silicone molds seem to retain enough heat to get the job done, plus the couple of tablespoons of sugar I add to every recipe.