How soon to safely start selling?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gramma Judy

Reaction score
I have been making soap for about six months. I feel confident in some of my recipes. After the first of the year, I will be looking into inusrance and business forms/licenses and such. How long was it before most of you started selling. I see another relatively new soaper on this forum, already has an etsy site and according to her postings she has only been making soap about six weeks. Don't mean to stir any pots other than soap pots.

I've been making soaps for about 3 years. I just recently started selling, primarily to friends and family although I have done a few farmers' markets and craft fairs and I'm starting to get a following, and a local store has asked me to place some items in their gift section.

I want to see how recipes, FO's, and colorants work/perform/look 8-12 months or longer after the soap is made, hence the reason it took me awhile to get started. There were some recipes that I loved at 5 months, and they just didn't age well. I'm glad that happened in my cabinet instead of on a customer's shelf.

Time is not always the only factor. One could have been making soap for a couple years and still not be ready if you only make a couple small batches a week. When I first started soaping (11 yrs. ago) I made several batches nearly everyday for a year before I started to sell. I gave a way a ton of soap to friends and family and it was at their insistance that I started selling.

Tread carefully, everyone. This thread WILL NOT turn into a train wreck.

Saltysteele, all you need to do is read back through a few thousand posts and you'll understand why we urge caution when you decide to start selling.

It's not rocket science, but it is science.