When do you pour???

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SudsyKat

Reaction score
Hi, all! I'm sorry I've been more of an asker than an answerer lately, but I'm relatively new to bath and body. I've made a few lotions and I seem to have a recurring problem. My lotion thickens before I get it into a bottle. It's not super thick like a cream and, in fact, I'm fine with the thickness, I just don't understand the concept of when you're supposed to pour. Let me explain.

Last night, I made a nice hand lotion. I mixed well with a stick blender for about 3 minutes (right after I combined the oil and water phase). I let it rest for a while, mixed again for a minute or so and repeated until it was cool enough to add the other ingredients (actually, it was plenty cool - like about 100 degrees). I added the cool down phase and mixed again for a minute. I let it sit some more and mixed again for a minute. It was still liquidy. I let it sit again for a while and repeated, but this time, the minute the stick blender hit it it went immediately from liquid to thick lotion.

My main issue is that it's hard to get into a bottle at that point. Am I supposed to stop mixing once I've mixed in my cool down phase? Will the lotion get thick on it's own, without further mixing? Will it be the same thick lotion that I got by mixing or will it be slightly less thick? I'm just new, so it's hard to know. When are you supposed to pour?

Incidentally, it was one of swiftcraftymonkey's recipes, so I trust the recipe itself and like I said, the lotion is fine - I just need to understand about the timing of the pour. Thanks!!