Zinc Oxide

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Loolee

Reaction score
My niece has requested a facial lotion with sunscreen. I have zinc oxide ordered. So what is the usage rate so that its effective, but not be like bullfrog where it makes one look like a ghost. is this even possible?

The herbaire says its usage is 1%-15%, but that what they sell isn't used for sunscreen (zinc oxide USP). I ordered mine from Camden Grey and they don't list a usage rate.

TIA!

I think the best idea is to contact Camden Grey and ask them the usage rate to be sure.

Hi Loolee,

I have some personal experience using ZnO alone in a home-made sunscreen cream. I used it at 30% and must say I got burned a bit on part of arm that was exposed to sun the majority of the day (we hiked, it was in the mountains). I did not use any special oils with higher SPF (like avelane oil for example, see [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]http://www.actahort.org/books/845/845_97.htm[/FONT]), only a carrot seed oil which is full of carotens.
Your cream should have loads of antioxydants, including carotens,vitamin E etc. Also if you make it repairing by adding oils high in phytosterols - such as avocado, that will help. I think Ti2O is very important to be added as well, as it has slightly different wavelength activity and complements the UV protective effect of ZnO.

I found some interesting information on formulations here: http://www.koboproductsinc.com/Downloads/Formulating_natural_sunscreen-March2009.pdf

They show some recipes and the ZnO or Ti2O ingredient percentage. You will see, that majority is over 20%. I would not go below! Also, if you want to be protected, the cream will definitely cover your skin white to some extent- that is the principle of the protection, it is physical...
If you don't like it, you can add some beige teint to it..