Why does oil leak from soap?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

katre

Reaction score
Hello friends, I'm new to soap making. I made 6-7 kinds of soaps, but some of them leaked oil during drying. I did it at 45 degrees. (super oil 5%) It starts to look like this after a week of drying

Attachments

• 1.jpeg
    1.jpeg
    67.3 KB · Views: 0
  • 2.jpeg
    2.jpeg
    119.9 KB · Views: 0
  • 3.jpeg
    3.jpeg
    79 KB · Views: 0
  • 4.jpeg
    4.jpeg
    67.3 KB · Views: 0
Last edited:
It would help if you posted your recipe...ingredients and amounts, and your process.

Off hand, it could be that your soap overheated.

My formule
olive oil - 900 gr(%56)
coconut oil -400 gr (%25)
palm oil - 150 gr (%9)
castor Oil - 150 gr (%9)
Aqua - 528 gr (%33)
Naoh - 223 gr
I mixed it with a mixer for 10-12 minutes at about 45-48 degrees. When it became like pudding, I poured it into the mold

Thanks @katre that helps a lot. Your recipe looks pretty good when I run it through the calculator. Your temperature and mixing process sound fine, as well.

Your lye concentration is actually closer to 29%, not 33%. Did you use the water-as-percent-of-oils setting by any chance? If so, I'd recommend using the lye concentration setting instead, at 33%. Your 29% concentration is a lot of water that can cause the bars to stay soft for a longer time, but it should not have caused the problems we are seeing in your pictures.

Was the lye completely dissolved in the water before you added it to the oils?

Did you use any fragrance oil, essential oil, or other additives, like clay, salt, sugar, micas, etc.?

Last edited:
@lenarenee i thought of that, too, but the bars appears to have holes with darker liquid or spots around them, as well as darker swirls here and there. It looks to me like unmixed FO or EO, with potential lye pockets being a distant second.