Why beer soap?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

math ace

Reaction score
What are the advantages of beer soap?

I've been using a basic recipe (lye and oils) for CP soap. Now, I am contemplating trying some new ingredients. I just ordered some clay and tussah silk.

I am wondering what the Big Deal is about beer soap. For those of you who make beer soap, then please share why you do.

It's fun yet fairly easy to make. Customers/family/friends, guys especially, get a kick out of beer soap. And like JC said, beer improves the lather.

I am new to soap making but LOVE the idea of beer soap! Would love a recipe if anyone is willing to share! TYIA!

I am new to soap making but LOVE the idea of beer soap! Would love a recipe if anyone is willing to share! TYIA!

You don't need a specific recipe for a beer soap, just substitute the liquid for beer in any recipe.

Also as this is your first post please go to the Introduction thread and tell us a bit about yourself.

I do want better bubbles! I am using the soap queen's lots of lather recipe and I don't think it makes enough bubbles.
I know that adding sugars can cause the batter to over heat.
1. What percentage of the water should I try substituting with beer?
2. Does it matter which type of beer I substitute?
3. Is there any reason to be concerned about the beer causing my soap to spoil since it is a food product?
4. Will beer effect my fragrances in any way? Could it cause them to morph?

You could do all or part
Nope. Darker beers might give you darker soap though
3. Is there any reason to be concerned about the beer causing my soap to spoil since it is a food product?
Nope.
If you use FOs I think they'd cover up the beer smell.

Best way to learn is to research and experiment. There's lots of posts around the forum regarding beer in soap. A lot of em touch on procedure as well.