Why all the Castile &/ Bastile Slime Hate?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Here is a video of a castile I made. This is after a year cure

This same thing is happening to my 25% pomace soap, not this much but its the same thing. My soap is only cured for 2 weeks, I took a small piece to test it out how much it will lather at this time period. I was wondering what is this thing, since I am a newbie cp soaper and this is the first time I ever saw soap behaving like this. I will have to see if this thing will happen again even after 4 weeks curing time.

One question, even after full 4-5 weeks cure, this slime wont go away, if I reduce the Pomace in next batch will it work out?

This same thing is happening to my 25% pomace soap, not this much but its the same thing. My soap is only cured for 2 weeks, I took a small piece to test it out how much it will lather at this time period. I was wondering what is this thing, since I am a newbie cp soaper and this is the first time I ever saw soap behaving like this. I will have to see if this thing will happen again even after 4 weeks curing time.

One question, even after full 4-5 weeks cure, this slime wont go away, if I reduce the Pomace in next batch will it work out?

25% pomace shouldn't have caused slime, what else is in your recipe?

Any other ingredients? Superfat percentage? Additives? Lye Concentration or Water to Lye ratio? Those are all part of the recipe and can play a factor, particularly if you used a lot of water in the recipe and perhaps used a higher superfat.

But you are right. 2 weeks is a little soon to know how your finished soap is going to feel after a proper cure. But, I agree, I would not expect slime once well cured.