White soap - which oils and TD?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

renata

Reaction score
Hello everyone!

I could really use some help.
My friend asked me if I could make a green&white soap as a wedding favors. That means around 90 pieces of soap. Since I'm quite new to soap making I need your help please.

My recipe:
- 20% coconut oil
- 30% palm oil
- 35% olive oil
- 5% castor oil
- 10% rapeseed oil

- 5% Lye discount
- 5% Almond or grapeseed oil at trace
- Fragrance oil

I want to make white soap with green (I dont know yet...layers, swirls, maybe polka dots).
And here the problem appears. All my soaps are light green or beige because of olive oil. Do you think that titanium dioxide will make it look white? How much TD do I have to use?

I have to use olive oil because I have to cut the costs down to a minumum and olive oil and rapeseed oil are the least expensive oils in my country. I suppose I could cut the costs down by eliminating castor and almond oil but really want to make a good soap. I tried this recipe and it is my favorite so far.

When I make soap by this recipe the trace is reached really fast. Could it be because of castor oil? Will TD speed the trace even more?

I would be really happy if you could help me with your answers and maybe some comments how to cut the costs down a bit more.

Thank you so much,
Renata

Hi Renata,

I don't use palm oil, so don't know how that would impact on color. But if you want the soap to be as white as possible without TD, use light colored oils and butters and consider adding kaolin (white clay) to the portion that you want to keep white - its lovely in soap, and if you do add any EOs, its also supposed to fix the fragrance.