Which soap cutter do you like best?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

purplecatsoap

Reaction score
Hi all - I only make CP and HP soap in a log molds. I am pretty new to this, and bought a wooden soap cutter, which is ok. But I am wondering what soap cutters you like best. I've been looking for one that I saw a picture of a while back, to cut logs......it had 8-9 wires on a handle that you could pull down and cut the log all at one time. Sounds familiar to anyone?

Yup, I contemplated getting one, but at the end I preferred my wooden "miter box" type cutter because I can control the thickness of individual bars. Now if you are making and selling a ton of soap, then a wire cutter is definitely more efficient.

Last edited:
Hi all - I only make CP and HP soap in a log molds. I am pretty new to this, and bought a wooden soap cutter, which is ok. But I am wondering what soap cutters you like best. I've been looking for one that I saw a picture of a while back, to cut logs......it had 8-9 wires on a handle that you could pull down and cut the log all at one time. Sounds familiar to anyone?
I use the one you are talking about and LOVE it! However, I wish I did have more control over cutting just an end piece to check for hardness or cutting the bars into smaller pieces.....

I use the one you are talking about and LOVE it! However, I wish I did have more control over cutting just an end piece to check for hardness or cutting the bars into smaller pieces.....

This may seem like a silly question but how easily do the wires go through the soap? Do they need a lot of muscle to go through smoothly?

I just bought the adjustable cutter box from Willow Way. I haven't tried it yet but it looks well made and has an adjustable cutting shield. Need to make my next batch to try it out :p