Which color type to use?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bronte

Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm new to soapmaking and will be making my first batch this weekend (fingers crossed). I have a question regarding colors. I'm interested in making a basic mosaic loaf with a white base and translucent colored blocks. Will food coloring work, or will it bleed into the white? I'm just not sure what color type I should use to get that translucent, stained glass kinda look. Any suggestions?

Food color can be perfect for bright, translucent colors. Yes, it can bleed if you use too much. You should only need a few drops per pound to make bright, candy-like colors. If you want to mute that brightness a little bit, try adding one drop of a liquid oxide pigment with the food color. That will give it a slightly less 'jello' look.

Good luck :D

wich color type to use?

If you use food coloring those are not real good in soap,it's better if you get a better quality of coloring that is for soap. There's a place where they have alot of colors and on most of them they say in the detail part whether there soap stable or non-bleeding for micas and for Glycerin-dispersed colors it has letters on the color so you can see on the chart they have whether they're non-bleeding,non-morfing,etc. The place is: www.tkbtrading.com. I hope this helps you. :lol:

Re: wich color type to use?

chafalota said:
If you use food coloring those are not real good in soap,it's better if you get a better quality of coloring that is for soap.

You know food coloring works when it originate something extraordinary. Otherwise, just white color can play an important role because it has been standardized by most of the soap industries.

spammy link deleted - the mod team