Which Book?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alib

Reaction score
I am very new to soap making & have just one book (The Handmade Soap Book by Melinda Cross).
I'd like to buy another, but the choice is massive, was thinking 'Smart Soap Making by Anne L Watson' - can any one reccommend this book or any others??

I'd like something straight forward for beginners with a nice selection of recipes.
Thanks. x

That's a good starter book. The Complete Idiot's Guide to Making Natural Soaps by Zonella Gould is a brand new one that covers all the basics very well. It has more info.

I have yet to find a soap making book that completely satisfies me. I am relatively new to soap making but I have looked at a half dozen books or so and I'm not rushing out to buy any of them.

For me, the best resource I've found (other than this forum) is Kathy Miller's website. http://www.millersoap.com/ She has lots of printouts in PDF format that have all sorts of useful tips and recipes.

Susan Cavitch's two books are very useful with loads of background information but they are a little dated.

Delores Boone's Hot Process soap book has interesting recipes and nice pictures. I haven't tried Hot Process but her book is simple and straightforward and has helpful information about fragrance oils and the various properties of different fats.

Robert McDaniel's book also has good information about how to produce a balanced recipe but for some weird reason I found the photos of his soaps to be kind of ugly. They look crumbly to me.

Sandy Maine's book is beautifully presented but basically has only one recipe that she varies only with different essential oils or fragrance oils.

I haven't read the Anne Watson book yet but I've heard it's good.

The lye calculator on the Majestic Mountain Sage website and the soapcalc program available on line are terrific.

Good luck!