Where to get supplies

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jimmy Churro

Reaction score
Hello I'm new to the soap making world. I've been wanting to make soaps for over 20 years but there are just too many hobbies and crafts to explore in this lifetime!! Now it's time for soap making!! I know where to get lye, my question is where do I buy my oils? I'm guessing I need to buy larger quantities than what the grocery stores have to offer plus the costs might be cheaper elsewhere. I live in southern Ontario. Any advice would be great. Very excited to make amazing soap!!

Hello I'm new to the soap making world. I've been wanting to make soaps for over 20 years but there are just too many hobbies and crafts to explore in this lifetime!! Now it's time for soap making!! I know where to get lye, my question is where do I buy my oils? I'm guessing I need to buy larger quantities than what the grocery stores have to offer plus the costs might be cheaper elsewhere. I live in southern Ontario. Any advice would be great. Very excited to make amazing soap!!
Hello and welcome to a fun addiction! For Olive, coconut, avocado and sweet almond I mostly buy from Costco. I was originally buying Lard from Walmart but now get it in bulk from Bakers Authority. I don’t know which companies ship to Canada but I also Love Soapers Choice and Wholesale Supplies Plus for oils and additives. For fragrances I like Nurture Soaps, Nature’s Garden, Brambleberry and a host of others. Lol. I love Mad Micas for mica but also Nurture Soaps for those too. You will find that shopping for soap supplies is not a one stop shopping experience. Most folks shop around for the best prices and have favorite suppliers for different things.