Where to get started?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

justjen

Reaction score
Like I said in my intro, I am VERY new to soap making :oops:

I just feel so overwhelmed and Im not sure where to begin! I want to do M&P because i just dont have the space to do CP (or the patence for that matter LOL)

Should I just break down and buy a base from the hobby store (even tho they are expensive) to try and see if i like doing this or not?

My goal is to start a side business with soaps and scrubs and teas (the teas I can make LOL) and things along that line.

Its just the soap making that scares me LOL

I saw your other post about books.. but honestly I find that the internet is the best resouce for tutorials, particular videos of how to actually do things. Best part, it's free.

When I started, I Googled "how to make melt and pour soap" and got a huge search list. I started reading the very basic steps, and after familiarizing myself with that, I watched videos. Even though I didn't actually practice with soap yet, I knew the process and could apply it.

Then I bought a M&P base at Michael's and tried out the actual process. I found that I did enjoy it, and only from there I searched for higher quality materials online. You have to remember, to get everything online costs a ton in shipping, and most likely you'll get sucked into buying a ton of fragrance oils, etc.

Take it slow, do your research before jumping in a buying a ton of stuff. Good luck!

Thanks!

I think after reading some I'll try the hobby lobby or JoAnne's M&P as a "test"

I am in the same boat as you - very new! I am currently reading "The Soapmakers Companion" in addition to reading various soaping forums. I've heard a lot of people say not to always believe what you hear - so apparently that's a sign to double check on the info you get from anywhere.

Good luck!