what's the difference between shampoo bars and regular bars?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
shampoo bar is basically a cp/hp soap. unless it's a syndet. that's my basic understanding.

OK, I am not an expert, so when some of the experts speak up, listen to them, not to me. However, it being a holiday here, it may be a bit, so I will try to help.

Shampoo bars need to do 3 jobs. They need to clean the scalp and hair, rinse cleanly out, and they need to help to condition the hair.

Soap with a normal superfat of 5-10% will do all of the above, but probably won't leave any decent amount of conditioning in there. People everywhere use soap(often syndet) to wash their hair.

Shampoo bars, OTOH, will usually be more conditioning, with a higher superfat and more attention being paid to the types of oils used for certain properties. I use at least 20% castor oil, and about 5% jojoba in mine for example. Though you may very well use 5% jojoba in your bar soaps, I do not. I also never use over 5% castor in any of my bar soaps. I also use less coconut oil to decrease the cleansing because I have very dry hair.

Shampoo bars are formulated to be less cleansing and more conditioning. For example, in my regular soaps, I use 20% coconut oil, but when I was formulating my shampoo bar, I was advised to keep the coconut oil at 5% or lower so as not to strip my hair. HTH

Yep, Susie said it better lol.

Last edited:
^^^
true, i also lower my coconut to 10% max. i also lower my SF to 2-3%. don't like excess oils on my scalp, at all :D

So then should a regular castile work?

I've been trying my various regular soaps and my hair feels awful; greasy and dirty. Today I'm going back to shampoo in a bottle until I can figure this out but I didn't want to make a special shampoo bar if my regular soaps should be working.