What went wrong!?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

caroljean

Reaction score
I made two batches of soap (beginner soaper) with a basic recipe OO 35, PO 30, CO 30, Castor 5, SF 5%. First batch I added 1 teaspoon bentonite clay and lavendar eo and the water:lye ratio was 2.4:1 - it came out beautifully. To the second batch I used rooibos tea in place of the water and added nothing to it, but changed the water:lye ratio to 2.2:1 Soaped at the same temperature for both, approx 47C. I don't hate how it looks but I can see that something went wrong.. any ideas?

IMG_5244.jpg
Oh my goodness, when I see it in such a huge format it looks like a huge ham :D

Hello! I am also a newbie and am not too great with technical explanations, but the marbling you see there looks like glycerin rivers. The rooibos tea probably caused the soap to get pretty hot (I think because of the natural sugars or tannins), as you soaped at a pretty hot temperature too. It's purely cosmetic though, and looks pretty cool! Your soap should still be okay to use.

I'm not sure if these will fix the issue entirely in the future, but you could try cooling the tea before making the lye solution, steeping the tea for less time (not sure how strong you made it, but I think this factors in too!), using part tea/part water, or soaping at a cooler temperature.

Hello! I am also a newbie and am not too great with technical explanations, but the marbling you see there looks like glycerin rivers. The rooibos tea probably caused the soap to get pretty hot (I think because of the natural sugars or tannins), as you soaped at a pretty hot temperature too. It's purely cosmetic though, and looks pretty cool! Your soap should still be okay to use.