What should I use for the first M&P?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

EZ_Girl

Reaction score
Hi everyone!
I'm new to the soap making and I've been searching for the info for about couple weeks. I'd like to make my first soap, M&P, as that what they recomend to do first. And I'm totaly lost here.
My thought was to get a starter kit, like this one and couple of molds.
Does anyone has better suggestions on whether there are better kits somewhere else?
Thanks!

If you want to learn to make soap you have to first decide what process you want to use. M&P soap is used by melting an already made glycerin soap base and pouring into a soap mold. CP or cold process soap is made from scratch and is completely handmade natural soap.

The two processes are different and not cheap. Its better you decide if you want to use premade bases or make soap from scratch before you start buying your equipment and ingredients.

But if you do decide you still want to make M&P then find a couple of suppliers to compare prices and shipping costs. There are some soap suppliers that may carry all the bases, butters, oils, molds, dyes, fragrances, etc that you will need to start making soap. You will find it starts getting expensive so check out several suppliers for that.

Also-- some soap suppliers have 'kits' while others don't. If you go for a kit make sure it has everything in it you need to make a finished soap.

Have fun!

Those kits are just fine to start with :wink: Let's see if you enjoy soap making before you start doing larger investments.
Later on you can look into finding a base you like most; I'm sure our M&P soapers are happy to help.
I think www.brambleberry.com is a nice place to start :D
Watch out, cause those fragrance oils are way too addictive :p

Candybee said:
CP or cold process soap is made from scratch and is completely handmade natural soap.