What advice would you give to your beginning soaping self?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Good time to 'bump' this again. Many thanks to @Zany_in_CO, because this is my first time reading this.

I honestly don't have a lot of advice to give my old self. Being a Virgo and an accountant I took a very methodical approach to soap making. I did a ton of research...got to a point when I could watch a video on mute and describe everything that was being done and why they were doing it. And when researching, I looked at both the good and bad and took everything with a grain of salt because there is a LOT of conflicting information. You can't just go with want you want to hear, you have to be open to the stuff that may give your pause or even stop what you are doing.

When it came time to make my first soap...I bought a soap making kit from a reputable soap supplier. Yeah, it cost a little more, but it was the most logic course of action. All the ingredients were included, it was a tried and true recipe, the instructions were clear and easy to understand, and it even came with a mold. If I liked making soap...then I had a good start. And if I didn't like making soap, I wasn't stuck with a lot of stuff and could donate the mold to St Vinnies. Yes, yes, yes...you can buy base ingredients from Wal-Mart and use a milk carton, but as my Grandma was fond of saying..."work smart, not harder" and "something worth doing is worth doing well". And because failure is ALWAYS an option (even when you have been making soap for 20 years) it's the reason why I bought two-4" Square Molds and a 6" Slab Mold...with those two mold, I can test new recipes, colorants, scents, additives and almost every technique there is...without wasting a lot of ingredients if things don't work out. A heck of a lot cheaper to toss 20 oz of ingredients than 50 oz.