Weird space size at Holiday Fair

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

navigator9

Reaction score
I just got an application in the mail for a Holiday Fair at a nearby very large, upscale retirement center. I've never done their fair before. It's $45 if you bring your own table, $50 if you use their 6ft table. The application states, "Please be advised that one space will be limited to a maximum of 6 feet long and 30 inches deep." 30 inches deep??? Really? I think the only time I ever had a space like that was in the hallway of a grammar school, that had tables set up on both sides of the hall. It was very cramped to say the least. This is in an auditorium. You'd think they'd be able to spare a bit more space, wouldn't you? With just one table, I'd only be able to bring my single bars, no gift sets, or specialty bars. I'm just mulling this over "out loud"....I guess at $50 it would be worth it. I'm certainly not going to pay for two spaces just so I can bring my other table. It says they provide one chair. With a 6ft by 30in space, and the table the same dimensions, I wonder where you're supposed to fit the chair! I'll call them tomorrow and find out. For the $5 difference, I'd use their table, and only have to bring my soap and display boxes, so it would be pretty easy, and it's just a couple of miles away. OK, I think I talked my self into it. But what do you think of that space size? Stingy, huh?

I would ask for clarification before I applied to the show. 30" deep is less then 3' deep. That isn't very much room and I don't think enough for a human to sit or stand plus a table.

To me, this reads like they dont want you to place your tables in a L shape if you have more than one. I would think that would be waaay too little of a space the way they have it written.