Weird Burn. Did I do something wrong?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NovelCandles

Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I am new to candle making and I had a really weird burn where all of the candle sides stayed and did not burn/melt.

I used parafin wax (ArtMinds from Michael's) and an extra large wick; for large containers - 9" / 22.8cm. These wicks are meant for containers 3" to 4" (7.6 cm - 10.1 cm). Also, ArtMinds from Michael's.

My container is 3.5" wide. I trimmed the wick down to a 1/4".

I'm not sure about how to calculate fragrance load. So, maybe that's what went wrong? I used 3 and a half of the pre-cut bars of parafin. That's 18 oz (weighed it). I know I used 4 tsp of fragrance oil which is supposed to be .666 ounce.

It burned with a great smell; filled my apartment. Burned all the way down -- except the sides.

Not sure of my temps. For this candle, I did not measure temperature. :-(

Did I do something wrong??

Best,
Novel
weird burn_2.jpg

Last edited:
The wax you used was probably meant for pillars and not containers. The wicks may have been rated for soy wax, which generally has a lower melting point. Your fragrance load is about 3.7% which should be good.

Thank you @earthling121757! I researched and found right here on this forum that the ArtMinds wax is indeed a pillar wax -- newbie mistake! Sheesh. Haven't been able to find out what the wicks are good/best for. The packaging says 'various candle making projects' so it's extremely vague.

I did purchase soy wax flakes last weeks from CandleWic (W6072 - Golden Food 444 Wax). So, will research and see if this is good for containers and purchase the wicks that are compatible.

I guess I am lucky this candle burned all the way down, huh? :)