Wax tarts aren't working - no scent

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LauraZ

Reaction score
Hello,
I'm new to making wax tarts (made candles years ago) and I seem to be having a problem. I've made them twice now and both times the hot throw is almost non-existent.

Both times I followed the directions on the suppliers' websites for the correct temperatures to heat the wax and when to add the FO.

First try - I used EcoSoya from Brambleberry and scented at only 1/2 ounce per pound of wax and read more to find I needed to double that. The scents I used were from Wholesale Supplies Plus (Orange Dreamsicle and Oatmeal Honey) Cured maybe 10 days.

Second try - I used Pillar of Joy from Nature's Garden and scented at 1.5 ounces per pound of wax just to be sure I had enough. I used a scent from Nature's Garden - Sweet Potato and Brown sugar. The wax tarts cured for 2 days.

I'm using warmers I bought from Scentsy. I really want to make this work and I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong.

Any suggestions would be very greatly appreciated :)
Laura

I only make candles, I've never made melts. It kind of sounds like the scents may have been lost during the process. ...?
What are the flashpoints of your scents?

Welcome, Laura! :wave:

It very well could be that the fragrance oils themselves are the cause of the problem (i.e., they might just be lightweights in the scent-throw dept.). I haven't used the particular FOs you mentioned, but for what its worth, anything orange-scented tends to turn out so much lighter than other fragrance oils for me.

Hopefully more folks will chime in soon!

IrishLass :)

Edited to add- looks like HappyGoNaturally and I were posting about the same time. lol

Thank you for replying and for the welcome!

I didn't know to check the flashpoint and to be honest I don't exactly know what it means.