Wax melts problems

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ScentiliciouS

Reaction score
Can anyone help me, my wax melts have all started to go very bizzare.

They seem to be crumbling and not drying properly when in silicon mould. Using soy max with 10% fragrance which worked fine before

See pictures.

I have tried changing temp but no difference

Attachments

• PXL_20210315_173755891.jpg
    PXL_20210315_173755891.jpg
    120.4 KB · Views: 32
Does this happen with every fragrance or just one particular? If one particular, then perhaps check the usage rate suggested for wax - they can vary quite a bit. This one may not be suitable for 10%.
I'm not a wax expert by any means... but when I was playing with a couple different wax types, I noticed a similar look to some of mine, but they were not crumbling.

Quick questions:
Is this a soy wax bought from a candle supplier that includes additives?
What was the temperature of the room when they were cooling?
When they melt, do they continue to curdle along the melt pool (curdle is not an official term, just what it always looks like to me) This is often caused by using a soy wax that is not made specifically for candles and there is a great thread on here where someone demonstrated a burn using tea lights that I'm not able to find again that shows this really clearly.
Lastly, all my soy tarts developed bloom and were extremely crumbly when popping out of the clamshells. This, at least in my experience, seems to be the nature of pure soy waxes. What I do now is mix 70/30 para/soy and have no longer have problems with bloom or crumbling and it has made for a much easier time.

edit: Found it help. why is this happening?

Can anyone help me, my wax melts have all started to go very bizzare.