Vegan replacement for palm oil?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

soapshark

Reaction score
I normally use a recipe with palm, coconut, and olive oil to make my bar soap. I'm not very experienced with soapmaking and don't fully understand all the charts and stuff but I'm learning!

I would really like to replace palm oil for ethical reasons (just read an article about how a palm plantation killed some elephants) and I'm having trouble finding a replacement that isn't lard or tallow. I'd like to keep this a 3 or 4 ingredient bar soap if possible. any suggestions?

What you are looking for is certified "sustainable" palm oil. It does cost a little bit more.

Unfortunately I don't have any options for replacing palm oil, except sustainable palm oil, which was already suggested. But have you tried your soaps without palm at all?

you mean just make a coconut and olive oil soap? does that work? I haven't tried it yet.
Also, does anyone have any good US suppliers of sustainable palm oil? I found a few but they're all in the UK which doesn't really help me.

soapshark said:
you mean just make a coconut and olive oil soap? does that work? I haven't tried it yet.

I've never used palm in my soap. Mine are a large percentage olive and coconut oils. I do add some other oils in smaller percentages, like soy, avocado oil, shea butter, castor oil, etc.

You can use coconut and shea to compensate for what palm brings to your soap. Tinker around in soapcalc until you get a total fatty acid profile that is similar to your recipe with palm and give it a try.

I am happy to hear another soaper axes Palm! Plantations are killing everything and slashing and burning, terrible terrible things, nothing I want to support sustainable or not.

I use Babassu Oil and love it. You could also use coconut oil.