using lye to melt beeswax?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fiona Robertson

Reaction score
Hello, I am a complete newbie. So far I have used my lye and water mixture to melt my hard oils then added the soft oils which has worked well for me. If I were to include a tiny amount of beeswax with my hard oils, would the lye mixture be enough to melt the wax? I hope I've explained myself clearly!

Hello and welcome! It totally depends on how much beeswax you are adding. You could certainly try it. What you do is called the heat transfer method. Some use that method. I tried it and didn't care for it personally but if it works for you that's great. I don't use beeswax much and generally melt it separately as I soap pretty much at room temp, a bit higher when adding beeswax. It does need to stay warmer to keep from solidifiying.

Hello and welcome! It totally depends on how much beeswax you are adding. You could certainly try it. What you do is called the heat transfer method. Some use that method. I tried it and didn't care for it personally but if it works for you that's great. I don't use beeswax much and generally melt it separately as I soap pretty much at room temp, a bit higher when adding beeswax. It does need to stay warmer to keep from solidifiying.
Thank you so much for your speedy response!! I think Ill play safe and heat it separately!

It's not very likely this will work well. You would have to add the wax -- and only the wax -- directly to freshly made, hot lye solution to have any hope the wax will melt. The wax won't mix with the lye; it will float on the surface.

If your fats are cooler than the melt temperature of beeswax (about 160 F / 70 C), the beeswax is going re-solidify within seconds after you pour the lye solution into the fats.