Unsure why Linoleic and Linolenic numbers are so high?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tracy von Elling

Reaction score
I am trying to post my recipe here. I'd love a bubbly bar that isn't too soft either. I'm new to soap making and the recipe I last used was with Lard. Now I'm wanting to use Crisco because I have that at home and am wondering why the L and L numbers have jumped. I have searched on here and been reading but am still struggling to understand all the numbers. Here is my recipe:
Olive: 30%
Coconut oil: 30%
Crisco with palm: 30%
Castor oil: 10%

Also wondering if 21 grams as soap calc is saying of fragrance oil is too much?

I appreciate any help and thank you so much!

Crisco is high in lins. If u reduce the crisco to reduce the lins, ur bar won’t be very hard. I recommend that u decide what qualities that u want in soap and then purchase the oils. Its not like cooking where u open the pantry and use what’s there. U can, but it won’t make great soap.

How much total oil is in your recipe? 21 grams of fragrance isn't that much unless you are making a tiny, tiny batch.

Crisco is high in lins. If u reduce the crisco to reduce the lins, ur bar won’t be very hard. I recommend that u decide what qualities that u want in soap and then purchase the oils. Its not like cooking where u open the pantry and use what’s there. U can, but it won’t make great soap.

Okay thank you. So if I wanted to make a vegan one with the crisco, do you have any suggestions of which oils go well with that and maybe the percentages for a harder bar but also a bubbly one too? I will keep using Lard but also need a vegan option. I appreciate your help! I am reading and watching videos and have some books too as I know there is a lot to learn :)

How much total oil is in your recipe? 21 grams of fragrance isn't that much unless you are making a tiny, tiny batch.